RSS Feed

Fall Is Here


Other seasons eat their heart out to look this good

I know the solstice is supposed to summon the change of seasons, but there are other key factors that show that the season is not what it was. The weather is one of the best ones. Also, what sport season it is comes from the different seasons. The fashion style, leaves on the trees, and even food choices signify a change in seasons. So with all that, it’s pretty obvious that FALL is here.

Bama RB Mark Ingram is a beast

I tell myself (and others) that summer is my favorite season because school gets out (yes that still matters when you work at a university) and the weather is warm. I do enjoy the summer, even the heat of summer in Texas. I enjoy being able to go swimming. I like the long days and how the evening daylight lasts until close to 9PM. I like the vacation options available in the summer time. However, if truth be told, fall is really my favorite season. I love the leaves changing colors. Warm weather is fun for about a month. When it’s 100 degrees outside, that sucks. When the high is only in the upper 70s/lower 80s, everyone is happy. The mosquitoes vacate the area when the heat does the same. They don’t dig the cooler temps and that’s good. It’s more pleasant to be outside and enjoy nature. And then, there’s football. Football could, for me, be the greatest reason to prefer fall over all other months. I seriously get a bit bummed in February when the Super Bowl ends because I have to endure 6-7 months of boring sports and nothing to watch on Sundays. It’s really lame. So for me, fall signifies a shift in so many things. My favorite college team has always been the Alabama Crimson Tide (since I was 3 and knew what football was) so all you U-T people that get upset at my Facebook posts can chill out. I don’t give a rip about Texas colleges. Sorry. My favorite pro team is the Chicago Bears for 3 reasons: they have Danieal Manning at safety who played at ACU, they have Johnny Knox at receiver who also played at ACU, and they have Brian Urlacher (the baddest white dude in the game, other than Brian Cushing). I don’t care that Cutler sucks and the O-line is rubbish. Defense wins championships, just ask the 85 Bears. I could rant for hours on football, so I’ll let this go here.




My wife wrote a great blog on what she loves about fall at www.clydewoman.wordpress.com. If you haven’t read it, check it out. She makes some great dishes in the fall like cake and pumpkin pie. She also carves the best pumpkins. I’ll take pictures and show you. There’s also costumes and parties and so many fun things. Yay!

About D Grant Smith

Chef and host of the acclaimed public radio program "The Appetizer," D Grant Smith provides insights into new and emerging artists in music as well as dishing about his interests and hobbies including sports, movies, and other random things.

Leave a comment