RSS Feed

Denver Dining Conclusion


My sincerest apologies for taking an extra week to get this one up. Returning for a business trip has been more than busy. Anyways, I conclude my postings of my Denver experience with 2 meals that finished off an excellent trip and one I hope to do again.

After a long night with good friends and great food, I wasn’t really in the mood for something big. I managed to get out of bed in time to get the final breakfast meal served at the conference. We also listened to a half-interesting speech. But the food was too heavy: two mounds of eggs with hash browns and sausage links. I’d eaten bison burger about 9 hours earlier and that was still processing in the stomach. The eggs were too much, as were the sausage. I picked at the hash browns and dabbed at the eggs but that was it. Sorry no picture, it was a lovely piece. But I didn’t do much to attack it.

Turkey sandwich with cranberry sauce and chips

I left the session a bit early (when I noticed that not only were few people there but the subject matter didn’t really do anything for me). I went back up to the room and got everything ready to go. I’m glad I left earlier than originally planned because the airport was a bit crazy. It took me a while to figure out how their computer-ticket setup worked and then the long bank lines of going through security. When I finally got on the other side, I found my gate and went upstairs to a restaurant to grab some lunch before the first of my three plane rides of the day. I found a nice little place called The Paradise Bakery Cafe. They had a bar which let me order and watch some football. I ordered a Turkey sandwich with cranberry dressing. It came with chips made in the restaurant. It hit the spot. What a great way to end the Denver dining experience. I ate everything and loved every second of it. Getting to watch a bit of football was nice too. About 30 minutes later, I went back downstairs to my gate and prepared to leave the Mile High City.

As a whole, I have to say Denver was the best conference city I’ve been to. Second has to be Minneapolis, and third is Cleveland. I’d rank Hollywood #100, but I haven’t been to 100 cities, nor have I attended 100 conferences. The only good thing that came from the Hollywood trip were getting to meet and make some long-time friends that I see once a year at these conferences, but correspond with them year-round. Minneapolis was nice and the people were very friendly. Cleveland was nice too and I enjoyed my time there. But Denver stands alone. The food was stellar, the beverages were as well, the new friends were great, the sessions of the conference actually spoke to me with stuff I can take home, the presession (with Candow) was excellent, and I got to see some old friends. I loved the 16th Street Mall and wish my little town had one just like it. And I almost forgot to mention something else I loved about Denver-you can jaywalk and it’s legal. They actually set up a cross-walk to walk diagonally from corner to corner. It’s amazing! I loved Denver and look forward to getting to come back here.

About D Grant Smith

Chef and host of the acclaimed public radio program "The Appetizer," D Grant Smith provides insights into new and emerging artists in music as well as dishing about his interests and hobbies including sports, movies, and other random things.

Leave a comment